What Are the Different Teaching Job Exams in India?

Teaching is considered to be a noble profession. Teachers have the power to transform lives. This is why teachers are respected and revered by students and parents alike. 

With great responsibilities, it becomes imperative that teachers shaping young minds are well-qualified, certified and instructed. Notably, quality teaching and student learning are interconnected strongly. They are like the two sides of a triangle. The third side which is integral and cannot be overlooked is quality preparation and certification for teachers.

To ensure that teachers are qualified enough to impart knowledge, there are different examinations for the job. Aspiring teachers must know details about the qualifications and requirements for the same. Here’s SuperTeacher presenting a list of different teaching job exams in India. 

  1. TET: Teacher Eligibility Test

Prepared and conducted by Central and State governments, Teacher Eligibility Test (TET) is conducted in two parts: Exams 1 and 2. According to clause (n) of section 2 of the Right to Education (RTE) Act, people are eligible for appointment as teachers after they pass the TET examination. The exam is conducted once a year and comprises two levels: 

  • Level 1: For candidates who aspire to become primary teachers (Class I to V), 
  • Level 2: For candidates who aspire to become secondary teachers (Class VI to VIII).

2. CTET: Central Teacher Eligibility Test 

The Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE) conducts this exam and people who qualify go on to become eligible to teach in schools operated by the Government of India. The CTET applies to schools of the central government like KVS, NVS, Central Tibetan Schools etc. It also applies to schools under the administration of union territories. 

3. SLET or SET: State Level Eligibility Test or State Eligibility Test

This test is conducted in English across all states and some universities in India. Candidates who qualify get to apply for the post of a lecturer within their state’s jurisdiction. Any Indian national who possesses a Master’s degree with at least 55% marks is eligible to appear. 

4. NET: National Eligibility Test

UGC NET Exam is conducted to determine the eligibility of people for Assistant Professor or Junior Research Fellowship and Assistant Professor post. The CBSE conducts this examination on behalf of the University Grants Commission (UGC). 

5. Primary Teacher (PRT), Trained Graduate Teacher (TGT) and Post Graduate Teacher (PGT)

Government teaching jobs are reputed and stable job options. There are three levels: PRT, TGT and PGT. PRT refers to a primary teacher while trained graduate teacher is the TGT full form. A PRT teacher is eligible to teach from classes I to V. The TGT teacher can teach up to class X and PGT teachers teach to class XII. The Secondary Education Service Selection Board conducts the recruitment examinations. 

6. B.Ed: Bachelor’s in Education

Candidates who have graduated with a minimum of 55% marks can appear for this exam. The age limit is 28 years and there’s a relaxation period of 5 years for women and the backward category. Apart from government jobs, after B.Ed, popular jobs are counsellors, educational researchers and administrators. 

7. M.Ed: Master’s in Education

Candidates must pass either B.Ed, B.El.Ed. BA. B.Ed, BSc.B.Ed or D.El.Ed with a minimum percentage of 50-60% and then pass the entrance examination of their desired institute. Popular roles after the completion of M.Ed include those of a teacher, high school principal, administrative coordinator and graduate teaching assistant. 

Apart from these examinations, teachers can also brush up their skills with the help of Edtech platforms like SuperTeacher. It is an online app for teaching, which also offers a comprehensive programme with the aim of upskilling the teachers through workshops, projects and an online teacher training course.