Deleting a Snapchat Account is Easy if You Know How

Snapchat has managed to carve out a niche for itself among the most popular instant messaging applications with an idea that is as brilliant as it is simple: the images, videos, and stories that are shared with contacts or received are only available for a few seconds and are deleted once seen. Various filters, stickers, and effects can also be added to these “Snaps”. Who wouldn’t want to use it? Perhaps due to distrust regarding the lax North American data protection policy or because the average age of the application’s target was exceeded some time ago? Perhaps the cause is that you have not had the success on Snapchat that you expected and you have simply lost interest in it. Messenger.

But, to delete the account, it is not enough to deactivate Snapchat because, as with other applications, even when the little yellow ghost has disappeared from your phone, your data is still stored on the provider’s servers. As is often the case, the function to delete the account is “ hidden ” because the network has no interest in losing users. However, not everyone wants to permanently delete the account. Sometimes it is enough to temporarily disable it. We explain what you have to do in both cases.

Deactivate and delete a Snapchat account

To cancel an account, two steps are always followed: first, the profile is deactivated for 30 days and, after this period, Snapchat permanently deletes it. The same function that is used to delete an account is used to deactivate it, but those who know the application well know that it will not do any good to search for this function in both the Android and iOS versions. To do so, open the browser and follow these steps:

  • Open the accounts.snapchat.com web page.
  • Sign in to your Snapchat account.
  • In the window that will appear next, click on “Delete my account”.
  • To confirm, re-enter your access data.
  • A message will appear informing you that your account has been successfully deactivated and that you will receive a confirmation email shortly. Likewise, you are informed that your account will be deleted within 30 days. During this period you can reactivate your account at any time and recover all your data just by entering your access data.

Another option, albeit more intricate, is to do it through the Snapchat website or the app’s settings on your phone (in the cogwheel at the top right of the profile screen). Here you will have to click on “Help” (Support) and then on “My Account and settings” (My account & settings). By clicking on “Account Information” you will find various options, including “Delete my account”. Here you will receive the information regarding the deletion of your account and a link ( Accounts portal ) that will direct you to the mentioned URL accounts.snapchat.com, where you must follow the steps already explained above. In french readers can visit their Comment supprimer un compte Snapchat

If you let the 30 days pass without reactivating the account, it will be permanently deleted, as well as all your contacts and all the Snaps that you would have saved in the application archive. Your name will again be available for use by other users. Knowing this, deleting an account is definitely a step that should be well thought through. If you are not sure, start by deactivating it and, if you do not want to reactivate it again and resume your activity on the platform, the account disappears by itself after those 30 days.

Can I save my Snaps before deleting my Snapchat account?

The success of Snapchat is directly related to the temporality of the files, which remain available for a very short time and disappear completely after viewing them. This concept protects the private sphere and at the same time allows creativity to be unleashed to a greater extent than on other platforms.

Since mid-2016, however, the app has had a new feature called “Memory” that lets you save Snaps and User Stories to an internal file and manage them from there. With the option “Only for me” (My eyes only) it is also possible to protect them with a password. You can also set this feature to save files to your phone’s image gallery. Proceed like this:

  • On the profile screen, click on the cogwheel at the top right to go to the app settings.
  • Scroll down and tap on “Memories”.
  • In the storage settings, tap on “Save to…” (Save too).
  • Now you can select one of the options: “Memories”, “Memories & Camera Roll” and “Camera Roll Only”.

While it is possible to save Snaps and Stories before deleting your account on Snapchat, for other people’s Snaps there is no such feature. This is due to the ephemerality of the application. But you can turn to dedicated third-party apps that are plentiful in the Android and iOS app stores. However, since the data leak in 2014, Snapchat has made a point of regularly removing apps like Snap-Hack from the stores. That is why it is advisable to be careful, because many of these applications turn out to be frauds, and in the worst case you risk having your account blocked for using them.

Of course, you can also take a screenshot of the image before the file disintegrates on its own, with the inconvenience that your contact will be informed. If you use a recorder like Apowersoft instead, you can capture videos without being detected. Since this data is stored in the temporary memory of your phone, with certain programs and applications it is possible to restore deleted files.