A Definitive Guide To Chakras And Chakra Jewelry: Meaning And Benefits

Chakras are the seven energy centers that run in a single line through the human body’s center, each with a specific role and purpose. These chakras are associated with different parts of the body, and they are believed to govern an individual’s emotional, mental, and physical well-being. 

Chakra jewelry has become increasingly popular in recent years since it is used to open, balance, and align the seven chakras and promote overall health and wellness. 

What are Chakras?

The word “chakra” comes from Sanskrit and means “wheel” or “disk.” A different color and symbol represent each chakra. The first two chakras are believed to connect us with elements of light and cosmic energy, and the last 5 chakras are associated with specific elements of earth, water, fire, air, and ether.

By wearing chakra jewelry that corresponds with each of the seven chakras, you can facilitate the process of releasing energy blockages and restoring the right balance on an emotional, mental, physical, and spiritual level.  

The seven chakras are as follows:

  • Root Chakra: 

The root chakra is located at the base of the spine and is associated with the color red. It manages the sense of security, grounding, and survival instincts. Red Jasper or Garnet is worn to promote stability, grounding, confidence, and a sense of safety.

  • Sacral Chakra

The sacral chakra is located in the lower abdomen, below the belly button. It is associated with the orange color and is believed to regulate creativity, reproduction, sexuality, and emotions. Carnelian and Citrine can be worn to enhance creativity, passion, sexual energy, and a healthy emotional balance.

  • Solar Plexus Chakra 

It is located in the upper abdomen, and the solar plexus chakra is associated with yellow. This chakra governs self-esteem, willpower, and confidence. Citrine is worn to promote self-confidence, optimism, and abundance. It can also help lessen digestive, liver, or stomach issues.

  • Heart Chakra 

The heart chakra is located in the center of the chest and is associated with the color green. As the name suggests, it promotes giving and receiving love and connecting with others. Rose Quartz and Peridot are worn to open up the heart chakra and promote love, compassion, and emotional healing.

  • Throat Chakra

It is located at the base of the throat and is associated with blue or light blue. The throat chakra regulates the ability to communicate effectively and is associated with intelligence and self-expression. Wearing Aquamarine can promote clear communication, self-expression, and self-awareness. Alternatively, Iolite also helps eliminate misunderstandings and issues with teeth, thyroid, and throat.

  • Third Eye Chakra 

The third eye chakra is located between the eyebrows and is associated with indigo. It governs intuition, creativity, and the ability to see beyond the physical world. To activate and open up the inner eye, Iolite is worn to inspire creativity, clarity, and strong intuitive ability, and Amethyst is worn to promote intuition, spiritual awareness, and psychic abilities.

  • Crown Chakra 

It is located where a crown is placed – at the top of the head. The crown chakra is associated with the color violet and white. It governs one’s connection to the divine or higher power. This chakra is the hardest to regulate, and stones like Clear Quartz, Amethyst, or Moonstone can help promote clarity, spiritual connection, and higher consciousness.

What is Chakra Jewelry?

Chakra jewelry is specifically designed to help balance and align the chakras in the body. This type of jewelry typically includes a gemstone or crystal associated with each of the seven chakras. This mystical jewelry can be worn as a necklace, bracelet, ring, or earrings, and the wearer is believed to receive the benefits of the gemstones throughout the day.

Popular types of chakra jewelry include:

Chakra Necklace

A special necklace, this chakra jewelry has seven stones associated with each chakra that are woven into a silver or gold-plated chain and sit right on top of the throat or heart chakra to directly balance each energy center effectively. 

Chakra Bracelet

A piece of amazing chakra jewelry, a bracelet with all seven stones that can be worn around the wrist, is a popular way to combine healing and fashion. A chakra bracelet can bring energy balance to all seven chakras quickly.

Chakra Ring

A small dainty chakra ring with tiny pieces of gemstones looks pretty and works as well as other chakra jewelry. It is subtle and sits directly on the skin to continuously balance the chakras.

Chakra Earring

A contemporary fashion choice, chakra earrings come in various designs to suit your personality and style. You can pair these with a similar chakra necklace and create a statement, colorful jewelry that will go well with any monochromatic or minimalist outfit.

Benefits of Chakra Jewelry

Chakra jewelry can have various benefits, depending on the specific gemstones used and the intended purpose of the jewelry. Some of the most common benefits include the following:

  • BalancingChakra jewelry helps balance, open up, and align the chakras in the body, which can bring about overall health and well-being.
  • Enhancing energy: It removes energy blockages to enhance the free flow of energy throughout the body and promote vitality and good health.
  • Emotional healing: Emotional blockages and energy imbalances can lead to poor emotional health. Chakra bracelets can provide a constant stream of positive energy to improve emotional well-being.
  • Spiritual growth: For people on a spiritual journey, the gemstones can support spiritual growth by promoting a deeper connection to one’s inner self and the divine.
  • Focus and clarity: Specific gemstones can help enhance focus and clarity by establishing a clear mind.
  • Providing protection: Necklaces and bracelets are mostly used to protect from negative energies and promote inner peace and calm.


Chakra jewelry is worn to improve the energy flow, balance all seven chakras in the body and promote overall health and wellness. Using gemstones or crystals associated with each chakra, this special jewelry can provide a range of benefits, including emotional healing, spiritual growth, improved physical health, and mental clarity. With a variety of gemstones and styles to choose from, you can choose chakra jewelry that is beautiful, and meaningful while also promoting inner peace and aligning your chakras.