5 Different Types of Employment-Based Visas

In 2020, there were 27.3 million employees who were immigrants, 17 percent of the working force. The demand for immigrant workers in the US keeps fluctuating depending on various industries. Recent research suggests that more immigrant workers would be needed in the future due to the aging US population and growing job opportunities. But individuals need work visas to become part of the US workforce. To get their dream job in the States, individuals ought to know about the types of employment visas that can provide a green card for skilled & unskilled workers.

Different Types of Employment-based visas

  1. EB-1

Those with “exceptional talent,” such as business owners, academia, research, science, the arts, or athletics, are covered by EB-1 visas. There is no need for a labor certification for this kind of visa. If the EB-1 visa holder has an accepted I-140 (green card) form, their family members can also petition to apply for entry to the United States under the E-14 or E-15 immigrant status, respectively.

  1. EB-2

Professionals with advanced degrees or foreign equivalents, those who can demonstrate at least ten years of relevant experience, and those whose job is in the US national interest are all eligible for EB-2 visas.

  1.  EB-3

One can apply for many types of visas, but EB-3, an immigrant visa, is for those who desire to live permanently in the United States. Individuals qualify for this visa category if they are professional, skilled, or non-skilled. The United States of America’s EB-3 permanent resident immigration visa is based on work. This green card for skilled & unskilled workers is intended for international workers whose services are deemed crucial to the domestic economy or for whom employers cannot find candidates with the necessary abilities in the local skills bank.

  1. EB-4

Certain religious workers, employees of US overseas missions, retired employees of international organizations, and noncitizen adolescents who are wards of American courts are all eligible for EB-4 visas, a unique kind of visa. For this kind of visa, labor certification is not required.

  1. EB-5

 These are available to anyone who invests 1.8 million USD in a new business venture that hires at least TEN full-time American employees or 900,000 USD in a new business venture in a designated employment region that does the same. For this kind of visa, labor certification is not required.

What are the different types of workers?

To apply for the visas given above, an individual must identify the category of workers they fall into.

  1. Professional

An individual with a bachelor’s degree and a work experience of fewer than five years as an attorney, teacher, physician, architect, or engineer is considered a perfect fit for this worker category.

  1. Skilled workers

‘Skilled employees’ are those who work in jobs that don’t call for advanced degrees but need training and experience of at least two years. Occupations that fit in this category are:-

  • Chefs
  • Reporters
  • stonemasons
  • Journalist
  • Graphic designers
  • Computer and technical workers
  • Fashion designers
  • construction first-line supervisors
  1. Unskilled workers

Non-skilled workers work in non-skilled positions that don’t need temporary or seasonal employment and require less than two years of training, education, or experience.

The State Department annually awards roughly 20,000 immigration visas with job preferences. And in the year 2020, the United States issued14,694 employment-based preference visas. In many cases, the employer filed the immigrant petition on behalf of the immigrant worker they want to hire. Many companies provide their visa program services to help these firms file the petition properly and get the procedure fast-tracked. These companies ensure that the company’s petition is filled following law and order. So, if you are looking to apply for any of these visas, you can consider getting in touch with one of these visa firms for the best assistance.